Tennessee Bankers

Tennessee Bankers Association Elects New Leadership

Lee M. Moss, president of Franklin Synergy Bank in Murfreesboro/Franklin, Tenn., was installed as chairman of the Tennessee Bankers Association (TBA) during ceremonies at the closing banquet of the organization’s recent 127th Annual Meeting. More than 680 members of the financial services industry and related businesses attended the convention.
Moss accepted the chairman’s gavel from Gordon Majors, president and CEO of The Hardin County Bank, Savannah, who served as TBA chairman for 2016-2017. Majors will remain a member of the Association’s board of directors for the next three years to help ensure continuity of leadership.

Delegates from TBA-member institutions elect new executive officers and new board members each year during the annual convention, with members receiving one vote per charter. Executive officers elected for 2017–2018 are:

  • Chairman – Lee M. Moss, president, Franklin Synergy Bank, Murfreesboro/Franklin
  • Chairman-elect – John Muse, chairman, president and CEO, Farmers State Bank, Mountain City
  • Vice Chairman – R. Molitor Ford, Jr., vice chairman and CEO, Commercial Bank & Trust Co., Memphis

In addition to the executive officers, TBA members elected one new director from each of the three grand divisions of the state. Directors serve three-year terms on the TBA board. New directors are:

  • East Tennessee – Brandon Hull, president/CEO, Greeneville Federal Bank, Greeneville
  • Middle Tennessee – DeVan Ard, president/CEO, Reliant Bank, Brentwood
  • West Tennessee – Andrea Browning, CEO, Centennial Bank, Trezevant

The bankers join existing board members to guide the Association for the next year.


About Tennessee Bankers Association
The Tennessee Bankers Association is a not-for-profit organization representing Tennessee’s commercial banks and thrifts. The Association provides continuing education, develops and monitors state and federal legislative agendas, disseminates information on all facets of the financial services industry, and promotes the public image of financial institutions. Visit us at our website, www.TNBankers.org.


Members of the 2017-2018 Tennessee Bankers Association executive committee are (L-R) Past Chairman Gordon Majors, President/CEO, The Hardin County Bank, Savannah; Chairman Lee M. Moss, President, Franklin Synergy Bank, Murfreesboro; Chairman-Elect, John Muse, Chairman, President, and CEO, Farmers State Bank, Mountain City; President/CEO, Colin Barrett, Tennessee Bankers Association, Nashville; Chairman-Elect, John Muse, Chairman, President, and CEO, Farmers State Bank, Mountain City; Vice Chairman, R. Molitor Ford, Jr., Vice Chairman and CEO, Commercial Bank & Trust Co., Memphis




Lee M. Moss
2017-2018 Chairman
Tennessee Bankers Association


Lee M. Moss is president of Franklin Synergy Bank, having served as chairman and CEO of MidSouth Bank in Murfreesboro, Tenn., prior to the merger of the two banks in 2014. Moss formerly served 28 years with SunTrust Bank in Nashville, most recently as president in Rutherford County.

Moss graduated from the University of Tennessee in 1973 with a BS degree in business administration, majoring in banking. He is also a graduate of The Graduate School of Banking at LSU and the National Commercial Lending School. Moss graduated from Leadership Rutherford in 1996 and Leadership Middle Tennessee in 2011.

Moss is very active in the Murfreesboro community, currently serving as chairman of the St Thomas Rutherford Hospital Board and as a board member of the following: St Thomas Health Services in Nashville, Business Education Partnership, and The Jennings Jones Foundation. He previously was chairman of the Rutherford County Chamber of Commerce; chairman of the Rutherford County United Way board; campaign chairman, president. and treasurer of Discovery Center in Murfreesboro; national president of Phi Gamma Delta Fraternity; president of the Rutherford County American Heart Association; board member of the MTSU Foundation and MTSU School of Business; president of the Nashville Downtown Optimist Club; and president of the University of Tennessee Davidson County Alumni Association. Moss is the 2012 recipient of The YMCA’s Humanitarian of the Year, 2006 Chamber Business Person of the Year, and 2004 Jennings A. Jones Champion of Free Enterprise from MTSU’s School of Business.

He officiated high school basketball in Middle Tennessee for over 25 years, twice officiating the state tournament in Murfreesboro. Moss is active at First United Methodist Church, where he has taught the Koinonia Adult Sunday School Class for 16 years. He formerly served as chair of the Elders at Woodmont Christian Church in Nashville.

Moss and his wife, Susan, have four children: Katherine, Chase, Laura, and Robert (deceased), and five grandchildren.