Tennessee Bankers

Young Bankers Division Elect New Leadership

Nashville, Tenn., Monday, May 8, 2017—The Tennessee Bankers Association’s Young Bankers Division elected new 2017-2018 officers and directors during the organization’s Leadership Convention, which took place April 23-25 in Nashville.

New Officers

Delegates elected the following bankers to serve as officers:

  • Chairman—Michelle Bing, Senior Vice President/Commercial Lending, Bank3, Union City
  • Chairman-elect—Josh Lane, Senior Vice President/Lending Services, TNBANK, Knoxville
  • Vice Chairman—Samuel L. Short, Senior Vice President, Southern Bank of Tennessee, Mount Juliet
  • Immediate Past Chairman—Chris Schlueter, Vice President, FirstBank, Nashville

As chairman of the division, Bing will serve as an ex-officio member of the Tennessee Bankers Association board of directors.

“It is an honor to serve as the Chairman of the TBA Young Bankers Division, which has been shaped over the last 50 years by some of the most well respected bankers in Tennessee,” Bing stated. “As in many industries, banks are looking to identify and groom the next generation of leaders. The Young Bankers Division has a well-established track record of providing the network and professional development skills bankers need to become effective and influential leaders in their banks and communities.”


In addition to the four executive officers, the Young Bankers Division is governed by a nine-member board composed of three directors from each of the three grand divisions of the state—East, Middle, and West. Directors serve a three-year term with one director from each of the grand divisions rotating off each year to be replaced by a newly elected banker from the same division.

Directors elected to the board during this year’s convention were:

  • East Tennessee—Michael J. Saporito, II, First Vice President, Mountain Commerce Bank, Knoxville
  • Middle Tennessee—James J. Fuller, Branch Manager/Lender, Southern Community Bank, Tullahoma
  • West Tennessee—Misty Sharp, Vice President/Marketing Director/Internal Audit BSA, Centennial Bank, Medina

Fulfilling one-year of a vacated term in West Tennessee is Billie Jo Parker, Managing Director, Metropolitan Bank, Memphis.

Bankers who completed their three-year terms and rotated off of the board were:

  • Middle Tennessee—Samuel L. Short, Senior Vice President, Southern Bank of Tennessee, Mount Juliet
  • West Tennessee—Danielle Williams, Financial Center President, First Citizens National Bank, Newbern

Directors continuing to serve out their terms on the board are:

  • Robert Bradley, Executive Vice President/Chief Risk Officer, Bank of Tennessee, Johnson City
  • Mark Bryan, Vice President, Commercial Lending, SouthEast Bank, Farragut
  • Johnathan West, Assistant Vice President/Mortgage Originator, Macon Bank and Trust Company, Lafayette
  • Justin Nipper, Assistant Vice President/Risk Officer/Credit Analyst, The Farmers Bank, Portland
  • Derrick Whitten, Vice President, The Hardin County Bank, Savannah

The Young Banker’s Division was established in 1960 and is devoted to preparing Tennessee’s young bank officers to become the industry’s next generation of leaders.

The members of the division represent financial institutions across the state of Tennessee. Members of the division board serve as trustees for The Southeastern School of Banking, a two-year general banking school conducted annually by the TBA.

The division oversees the association’s Personal Economics Program (PEP), a financial literacy effort by bankers to educate consumers about such topics as banking, personal money management, the wise use of credit, the importance of saving, and identity theft and other types of fraud.

In addition to the two-day professional development conference, Leadership Convention, the division hosts the Young Bankers Day on the Hill. This program reinforces the importance of involvement in the TBA’s government relations activities. During this annual event, bankers spend a day at the Capitol in Nashville learning about how the General Assembly functions, meeting with government leaders and their own representatives, and attending committee meetings and hearings.


About The Tennessee Bankers Association

The Tennessee Bankers Association is a not-for-profit organization representing all of Tennessee’s commercial banks and thrift institutions. The Association provides continuing education, develops and monitors state and federal legislative agendas, disseminates information on all facets of the financial services industry, and promotes the public image of financial institutions. For more, visit www.TNBankers.org.




Left to Right: Josh Lane, Michelle Bing, Mark Bryan, Chris Schlueter, Michael Saporito, Samuel Short, Justin Nipper, Billie Jo Parker, Misty Sharp, James Fuller, Johnathan West, Robert Bradley, Derrick Whitten