Tennessee Bankers

Dickson Banker Elected President of TBA Independent Bankers Division

For Immediate Release - November 4, 2013
Contact: Colin Barrett, President


Ted Williams, president and chief executive officer of TriStar Bank in Dickson, is the newly elected president of the Independent Bankers Division of the Tennessee Bankers Association (TBA).  Williams was elected during the group’s annual convention held October 29 and 30 in Franklin, TN.  More than 150 persons attended the convention, which attracts community bankers from across Tennessee.

Williams succeeded Michael W. Hagan in the division’s top office. As a past president, Hagan, who is president and CEO of Reelfoot Bank, Union City, TN, will continue to sit on the division’s board of directors for three years.

Delegates to the Independent Bankers Division convention elected the following community bankers to serve as officers for 2013-2014:
• President – Ted Williams, president/CEO, TriStar Bank, Dickson
• President-elect – W. Logan Hickman, Jr, executive vice president, Peoples Bank of the South, LaFollette
• First Vice President – Phillip Renfroe, president/CEO, Community Bank, Lexington
• Second Vice President – Bill Yoder, president/CEO, Southern Community Bank, Tullahoma
• Secretary/Treasurer – Philip Calahan, president/CEO, Peoples Bank & Trust Company, Manchester

In addition to executive officers, each year convention delegates elect one director from each of the three Grand Divisions of Tennessee to replace three directors who rotate off the board.

New directors elected to three-year terms on the board during this convention were:
• East Tennessee – Kenneth V. Jones, president/CEO, Citizens Bank, New Tazewell
• Middle Tennessee – Gene Seaton, president/CEO, Franklin County United Bank, Decherd
• West Tennessee – Wayne Minton, president & CEO, The Bank of Milan, Milan

As president of the Independent Bankers Division, Williams also will sit as an ex-officio member of the Tennessee Bankers Association board of directors for 2013--2014.  The TBA board is responsible for establishing the overall goals, policies, and activities of the association.

The Independent Bankers Division of the Tennessee Bankers Association was organized in 1973 to represent the interests of Tennessee’s community banks in areas such as legislation and education.

# # #

The Tennessee Bankers Association, founded in 1890 and headquartered in Nashville, is a not-for-profit organization representing the state’s commercial  banks and thrift institutions and their  employees.  The Association provides continuing education, develops and monitors state and federal legislative agendas, disseminates information on all facets of the financial industry, and promotes the public image of financial institutions.  For more information about the association, visit the TBA’s website, www.TNBankers.org.