Tennessee Bankers

Independent Bankers Division

Organized in 1973, the Independent Bankers Division focuses on the needs and concerns of Tennessee community banks. Governed by a 17-member board of directors, the Division conducts the Independent Bankers Division Convention each fall, plans and conducts the annual Community Bank Directors Conference, and endorses selected products of the Independent Community Bankers Association of America, (ICBA). The chairman of the Independent Bankers Division represents the division on the TBA board of directors.

Independent Bankers Division


Chairman: Matt Daniels, President/CEO, Apex Bank, Camden
Chairman-elect: Philip Calahan, President/CEO, Peoples Bank & Trust Company, Manchester
First Vice Chairman: Terry Eastwood, Executive Vice President, First Farmers and Commercial Bank, Pikeville
Second Vice Chairman: Jay England, President/CEO, Decatur County Bank, Decaturville
Secretary/Treasurer: Jim Robinson, CEO, Heritage Bank & Trust, Columbia


Adam Robertson, President, Commercial Bank, Harrogate (2019)
Keith Hatley, President and CEO, Sumner Bank & Trust, Gallatin (2019)
Shane Jackson, Market Executive, First US Bank, Knoxville (2020)
Marty Maynord, CEO, American Bank and Trust of the Cumberlands, Livingston (2020)
David Prince, President/CEO, INSOUTH Bank, Brownsville (2020)
Doug DeBusk, Executive Vice President, Andrew Johnson Bank, Greeneville (2021)
Johnny Law, President/CEO, Citizens Bank, Carthage (2021)
Jeremy Washburn, CEO, The Peoples Bank, Sardis (2021)

Past Chairmen - Ex-Officio Directors

Phillip Renfroe, President/CEO, Community Bank, Lexington (2019)
Kenneth V. Jones, Regional Executive, First State Bank of the Southeast, New Tazewell (2021)

The Independent Bankers Division finds fellowship through participation in:

The Community Banking Conference

Each year, more than 150 bankers across the state come together at the Community Banking Conference (formerly the Independent Bankers Division Convention). The business session on the first day includes a session on a relevant hot topics, followed by a reception for all convention participants.  The business session on the following day covers current issues of interest to community banks and includes the election of division officers and directors.

Independent Bankers Division Contact

Colin Barrett - cbarrett@tnbankers.org
800-964-5525 or 615-244-4871